Skip to content

Emailing politicians: the follow-up

March 12, 2012

As promised two days ago (oops), here are the replies I got to my emails to my MEP Roger Helmer (RE his equating gay marriage with incest) and MP Stephen Dorrell (RE the NHS bill).

First up: Helmer. He replied to my email with the following:

“Try reading what I said.  I did not equate same-sex “marriage” to
incest.  R.”

Succinct. Also untrue. The implication that I was some heard-it-through-the-grapevine kneejerk merchant raised my ire, as did the quotation marks (you can just see him doing the finger-quotes in the air, can’t you?). My response:

“Dear “R”,

I have read what you said. You suggested that legalising gay marriage would open the door for the legalisation of incest, which implies that you think there could be no rational argument put forward to distinguish between the two. Thus, even if you did so accidentally while trying to top up the hyperbole levels of your blog post, you have equated the two.

If this wasn’t your intention, I suggest taking an hour or two to dwell on the content of your posts before publishing them. As for your quotation marks around “marriage”, thanks for nicely illustrating the homophobia which I initially suspected underpinned your original post.

Regards,

Charles Wheeler”

He’s yet to respond again.

Next up was Stephen Dorrell. My letter to him was less confrontational and more of a plea. Unfortunately, it seems he’s very busy (as I’d hope), so someone in his office sent me this:

“Dear Mr Wheeler,

I am writing from the office of Stephen Dorrell MP.

Thank you for your email. Mr Dorrell will be in touch with you as soon as he possibly can about this issue.

Kind Regards
Natalia”

Stock response, most likely, but that’s fine. I really do hope I get a response when there’s time.

These blogs, incidentally, have brought me more traffic than anything else. If you’re a first-time reader, please do have a look around the place and read some of the stories.

Back soon with more stuff, including more free fiction. I’m nice like that.

Charles

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 19:17

    I’m glad you are them on their toes! Well flippin’ done, and carry on the good work. I agree 100% with you 🙂

  2. March 12, 2012 19:18

    Whoops – That’s supposed to read :- ‘keeping’ them on their toes!

  3. charleswheeler permalink
    March 12, 2012 19:43

    Cheers. Couldn’t let Helmer get away without being taken to task, and as for the NHS bill, everyone should be emailing their MP about that. Everyone.

Leave a Reply

